❤️ ❤️ ❤️

❤️ ❤️ ❤️
If you’re feeling the love already this year why not celebrate Valentine’s along the peaceful setting of the Ashton canal on board Hazel the Wellbeing boat followed by a lovely meal at the Boundary Inn, Audenshaw.

Saturday 11th & Sunday 12th February 1pm & 4pm and Tuesday 14th February 6pm departure from Portland Basin, Ashton under Lyne

Tickets £20 per person including 2 course meal at the Boundary Inn.

For further details contact Claire on 07860 944969

❤️ ❤️ ❤️

A new venture for Hazel

In between Hazel welcoming folk aboard for well-being trips she is earning a little money and getting well known by having folk to stay who pay a commercial rate.

At Christmas a group of friends stayed aboard and were pleased enough to write this review…….” My five friends and I had a great stay for two nights over new year in Hazel docked at the Portland Basin. Chris was a wonderful host: friendly, chatty, helpful, always reachable by phone, and flexible. We commuted into Manchester easily both days to explore and enjoy the nightlife. There is an ASDA superstore a five minute walk away. The kitchen on Hazel is very well equipped. We found the boat very well equipped. I certainly recommend a holiday on Hazel if you’re looking for something fun and a little bit different.”

So – spread the word !!!

Find more details here…….https://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/16226639?checkin=24-01-2017&checkout=25-01-2017&guests=1&s=SAzhw7Rg#_=_

 

Volunteer opportunities for the New Year

DRIVERS NEEDED….Become a valued part of The Wooden Canal Boat Society Charity Shop‘s team. Deliver sales from our shop or collect donations.     Clean driving licence a must.

ONLINE SALES PEOPLE NEEDED….We have donations to our charity shop that could make more money for us by being sold online.
Help us to sort donations and / or list online.
Great, interesting work for anyone who is computer literate: full training given.

CHARITY SHOP WORKERS……Lots of opportunities in our shop in Stamford St., Ashton under Lyne.  Sort donations, arrange the shop to best advantage, help customers, work on the till, learn management skills.
Email general@wcbs.org.uk or ring the shop Mon-Sat 10-4 and ask to speak with the manager, Christine Roberts for an appointment or more info.

RECYCLING DATES 2017

We start bright and early in the New Year with an evening trip on Tuesday 3rd Jan and then as follows……..

DATES OF RECYCLING TRIPS 2017
SUNDAY DAYTIME TRIPS
commence 9.30am until approx 4pm depending on number
of donations. Bring your own lunch.
MONDAY & TUESDAY EVENING TRIPS
commence 5.30pm until approx. 9pm
ALL TRIPS START AT PORTLAND BASIN MUSEUM.
Tues 3 Jan 2017
Sun 8 Jan 2017 Mon 9 Jan 2017
Sun 5 Feb 2017 Mon 6 Feb 2017 Tue 7 Feb 2017
Sun 5 Mar 2017 Mon 6 Mar 2017 Tue 7 Mar 2017
Sun 2 Apr 2017 Mon 3 Apr 2017 Tue 4 Apr 2017
Tue 2 May 2017
Sun 7 May 2017 Mon 8th April
Sun 4 Jun 2017 Mon 5 Jun 2017 Tue 6 Jun 2017
Sun 2 Jul 2017 Mon 3 Jul 2017 Tue 4 Jul 2017
Tue 1 Aug 2017
Sun 6 Aug 2017 Mon 7 Aug 2017
Sun 3 Sep 2017 Mon 4 Sep 2017 Tue 5 Sep 2017
Sun 1 Oct 2017 Mon 2 Oct 2017 Tue 3 Oct 2017
Sun 5 Nov 2017 Mon 6 Nov 2017 Tue 7 Nov 2017
Sun 3 Dec 2017 Mon 4 Dec 2017 Tue 5 Dec 2017

Stuck for a present for the person who has everything?

Why not buy them a day sponsorship for Hazel, Tameside’s well-being boat?

For £28 for one day you can help the ongoing costs of keeping Hazel trim and in good repair for those of poor mental health who need her recuperative trips.

Your friend will receive free newsletters from the Society and a special day together with other sponsors to visit Hazel for themselves. Just complete this form……….

Hazel sponsor form with STO-2016

An invitation from the Hazel Project

Hello, and seasons greetings.

I’m writing to invite you and your colleagues for a brew and a look round on Hazel, our beautifully restored narrowboat. She’s been accessibly fitted out with the aid of Big Lottery to work as a wellbeing boat, offering respite and adventures for people living with poor mental health. But thats not all she can do! she can be a space for workshops, meetings, creative inspiration…We are very keen to find innovative ways for her to work for the whole community and collaborate with organisations or individuals who can make use of her as a unique – and mobile –  resource. We can bring her anywhere theres a working canal – so Greater Manchester, Cheshire, and up into the Pennines along the Huddersfeild Narrow are all possibilities.

You dont have to have a doctors note to be able to benefit from some time on the canal either – Hazel is availiable for private hire for work socials, family or friends days out, or just some peace and quiet for one or two people. She also has berths to sleep overnight for a longer adventure. if you really get into boating, then there are opprtunities to volunteer aswell and learn how to narrowboat the old fashioned way 🙂

So if any of that sounds like it could be useful to you, either personally or professionally, do come down and have a no pressure look round. And if you can’t make either open day, Claire and I may be able to meet you there another time – just get in touch.

Click here come-and-have-a-look-on-our-lovely-community-boat for more information and contact details

 

Data protection

If you’ve just heard the news, please feel absolutely secure in the knowledge that any private details that you give us are kept very private by us. They are only shared with the very few members of the Society who need them, the newsletter, membership and sponsorship secretaries and the volunteer co-ordinator.

 

 

Memberships due

Hello, calling all members.

Our latest newsletter included a membership renewal form, if you wish to keep receiving these newsletters then please complete the form and send to us at our registered address with your cheque. Or, if you pay by standing order, please pay into our Co-op Bank account.

Here’s a link to the form with all the details on it – and please don’t forget Gift Aid if you are eligible. Thank you

Membership application form_2016

Gift Aid Declaration_single form for email_2016 – Copy